Fees Free Study in 2019

Who is eligible for first year fees-free study?

If you are:

  • a New Zealand citizen (which includes those from the Cook Islands, Niue and Tokelau)
  • resident in New Zealand for at least three years, either holding a residence class visa, or are an Australian citizen
  • a New Zealand resettled refugee


  • have been enrolled at school in 2017, 2018 or 2019, or have not undertaken previous full-time tertiary study of more than half a year, except while they were at school.

What is included?

All compulsory fees (tuition, services etc.) up to a limit of $12,000 and tertiary study at any level.

How do I check my eligibility?

Check if you are eligible at www.feesfree.govt.nz/